Gary J. Hunter Excellence in Mentoring Award – Call for Nominations

Nominees for the annual Gary J. Hunter Award for Excellence in Mentoring Rowan University Students are requested. We seek to recognize AFT members (faculty, professional staff, coaches and librarians) who go to extraordinary lengths to mentor students. This award acknowledges the efforts of those who mentor students as exemplified by Gary J. Hunter, a professor of history at Rowan University for 29 years, ensuring that while such efforts often go unnoticed, they will not go unappreciated.

The recipient of the award will be honored at the University Awards Ceremony.

Nominations are due by noon Wednesday, February 14, 2018 in the AFT Office, Robinson Hall Room 100.

Nomination packets can be picked up in the AFT Office, or download here

The AFT Adjunct Faculty Affairs Committee would like to recognize the service and teaching commitment of adjunct faculty to the AFT and Rowan University. Adjunct faculty members represent close to 40% of the total teaching faculty at Rowan University. Now, the new AFT Adjunct Faculty Awards Program will recognize the adjunct faculty members years of service and active membership in the Union. Adjunct faculty members will receive awards for every five years of service.

Accounting for the duration of service for each adjunct faculty member will be the initial challenge, but we hope these awards of gratitude will support and allow adjunct faculty to continue their valuable contributions.

Special touches for adjunct faculty include sponsoring a Student Art Contest for Adjunct Faculty!

Student Art Contest for Adjunct Faculty!

The AFT invites all Rowan University students to participate in the Adjunct Faculty Art Contest!

Use your talent, interpretation, and creativity to create a graphic representation symbolizing appreciation and the dedication of adjunct faculty members. The winning symbol will be incorporated in the final design of the annual adjunct faculty awards.

The AFT Adjunct Faculty Affairs Committee will award the winner a $250 gift certificate!

All entries are due by November 6, 2017 at 1:00 pm. We are accepting one submission per entrant. Download your entry form here.

Contact Judith Copeland, Adjunct Faculty Coordinator I, at, or contact the AFT Office at with additional questions about the contest or the awards program.


Download Entry Form







We are pleased to announce the students receiving scholarships from our union:


Name Scholarship Term Amount
Isabella Knapp AFT Margaret Cagney Scholarship Fall 2017-Spring 2018 $1,500.00
Marcus Mitchell AFT- Paul Tong Memorial Scholarship Fall 2017-Spring 2018 $1,500.00
Imani Pressley AFT Martin Luther King Fall 2017-Spring 2018 $1,500.00
Brianna Santarelli AFT John Schaub Scholarship Fall 2017-Spring 2018 $1,500.00
Emily Shourds AFT Rose Glassberg AFL-CIO Scholarship Fall 2017-Spring 2018 $1,000.00