Have a Heart Campaign 2015Two car loads of toiletries and suitcases were donated to the Center for Family Services (CFS) Teen Shelter in Camden on April 10th. Kelsey (left) and Christopher (middle) from CFS and Lori Block (right) get ready to pack the cars for the trek back to Camden. Thank you to everyone that donated and the kind efforts of the site coordinators!!!! We are a campus that cares!!!

Have a Heart Campaign 2    2015

Make a Difference







AFT HAVE A HEART Teen Shelter Donation Campaign

The American Federation of Teachers (AFT) Community Awareness Committee is sponsoring a HAVE A HEART DRIVE to benefit The Center for Family Services (CFS) Teen Shelter in Camden, NJ. We are calling on the entire university community to participate in this very worthy cause.

Youth coming into the shelter lack basic hygiene products and often carry their personal belongings in a garbage bag. We are accepting donations of: shampoo, hair conditioner, deodorant, body lotion, toothbrushes, toothpaste and shower gel as well as new or gently used small suitcases, large totes or duffle bags on their behalf.

Kick off for the campaign was Valentines weekend and it will run through March 31, 2015.

  • There will be donation boxes all around campus:
  • Mary Beth Hegel, EIS first floor, Memorial Hall
  • The AFT Office, Robinson Hall, Room 114
  • Shelia Stevenson, Sports Information Office, Esby Gym
  • Christine Larsen Britt, Bunce Hall, Room 259
  • Jon Foglein, Science Hall Main Office Room 130, ground floor
  • Esther Mummer, University Advising Center top floor Savitz Hall
  • Amy Woodworth, Hawthorn Hall, Room 205
  • Patricia Quigley, the Carriage House
  • Barbara Baals, Linden Hall, Room 230
  • Lori Block, Bozorth Hall , Room 195 A (the former Dean’s suite)
  • LuAnn Maslanik, Financial Aid Office in Savitz Hall, (lower level)
Maria Perez-Colon, outside the Dean’s Suite in Rowan Hall, Room 111
  • Sherri Rodriguez, College of Education Advising Center, second floor James Hall
  • Terri Sabatini, The Student Government Office, Student Center
  • Gerald Carey, Stratford Campus, in the lobby of the University Doctors Pavilion and in the lobby of the Academic Center

If you are from our Cooper or Camden Campus, please place your donations through interoffice mail to the AFT Office, Rowan University Main Campus, Robinson Hall, room 114.
No donation is too small!!!

Currently many of our local grocery stores have lots of items on the wish list on sale!!!

Thank you in advance for your assistance and generosity with this HAVE A HEART campaign!

Book Fest

Rain and cold did not dampen the spirits of AFT Local 2373, whose members celebrated reading and writing with area children at the 12th annual Collingswood Book Festival on Saturday, October 11th, in Collingswood, NJ. AFT members coordinated with Rowan’s Writing Arts Department to run a storytelling activity in the Kids Zone of the festival where children created, wrote, and illustrated their own stories based on visual images from a deck of storytelling cards.  The children’s accompanying parents, grandparents, and guardians were treated to an AFT grocery tote bag and calendar.  The festival attracts approximately 6,000 visitors per year, so this was a great opportunity for Local 2373 to increase its visibility in the region at an education-centered event.